Is St. John a British Island?

No, St. John is not a British island. In fact, it's part of the United States: St. John is part of the U.S. Virgin Islands, an American unincorporated territory. But it's easy to understand the confusion, given that there are also British Virgin Islands right next door, to the east of the American islands. These islands are all similar in that they are overseas territories with beautiful beaches. They also all use the U.S. dollar as their currency, since the economies of these islands are closely linked. But while you'll need a passport to visit the British Virgin Islands, you won't need one to visit St. John.

Which Islands Are Part of the U.S. Virgin Islands?

The U.S. Virgin Islands consist of three major islands plus a few dozen smaller islands. The three major islands are St. Croix, St. John, and St. Thomas.

Which Islands Are Part of the British Virgin Islands?

The British Virgin Islands include Tortola, Anegada, Jost Van Dyke, Virgin Gorda, and a few dozen smaller islands.

How Did the U.S. Come to Control St. John?

St. John and the other U.S. Virgin Islands were originally settled by Denmark and called the Danish West Indies, but Denmark sold the islands to America in 1917 for $25 million.

Are Residents of St. John American Citizens?

Yes. However, as residents of a territory and not a state, people on St. John do not get to vote in presidential elections, and they do not have voting representatives in Congress.