Cinnamon Bay Ruins
This .5 mile loop trail is quite shady, passing through an old sugar factory site and native tropical trees.
A visit to the Sugar Factory ruins at Cinnamon Bay offer a peek at St. John history. Here it is possible to follow how the Sugar Cane was processed from the fields into sugar, molasses and rum. See the horse mill where the juice was extracted from the cut cane stalks, and the boiling house where rows of copper kettles constantly condensed the syrup to crystal form. Walk through the store rooms where "hogsheads" of fresh sugar dried, these wooded barrels holding up to 1400 pounds. Note the rum still, with its chimneys as tall as the surrounding trees.
Smell the spicy scent of the Bay trees, used to make the famous St. John Bay Rum. Calabash and Genip trees grow in the foundations of the Great House at America Hill, as the Plantation was once known.
Cinnamon Bay Loop Trail (.5 miles)
Further along on the Loop Trail lay the crypts of a Danish Family who perished on the island.
All this is just a few footsteps away from Cinnamon Bay Campground and the largest white sand beach on St. John.