American Paradise Publishing is a small, "hopelessly local" publishing company dedicated to producing quality books focused solely on the Virgin Islands.
 

For detailed information and sample chapters click the book cover below

St. John
St. John: Feet, Fins and 4-Wheel Drive (2nd Edition - updated in 2001)
by Pam Gaffin
… is a complete, easy-to-use, travel guide to exploring St. John. It tells you exactly where to go, how to get there, and what to do and see when you arrive. It contains everything you need to know about the island’s beaches and hiking trails, as well as its confusing system of roads, foot-paths, and goat-trails. Recommended by Caribbean Travel and Life and by many St. Johnians—since locals are NOT on vacation and can’t always take off from work to be a tour guide for their guests.

144 pages. 12 maps. Indexed. ISBN 0-9631060-9-0 

Price: $12.00
Foxy and Jost Van Dyke
Foxy and Jost Van Dyke
by Peter Farrell
... is a delightful tale about a very Colorful Caribbean Character and his unique island paradise. Foxy is an entertainer, entrepreneur, philosopher, community activist, world traveler, conservationist, musician, storyteller, cultural historian, fisherman, comedian, sailor – a true West Indian Renaissance Man of the 1990’s. The book also contains sections on the Wooden Boat Race, a history of the infamous Tamarind Bar and the humble beginnings of the Jost Van Dyke Preservation society.
114 pages. ISBN 0-9631060-4-X 
Price: $12.00
St. John People
St. John People
by St. John Authors
… is a collection of 22 lively personalities written by 14 talented St. John writers. It is an entertaining journey straight into the heart of contemporary St. John. It reveals why, in so many wonderful ways, this island is still a big, sprawling family. The authors of this critically acclaimed book—and the residents they profiled—all share a fierce love for St. John and its people. A ‘must
read’ for anyone interested in the social fabric of this unique island.
Indexed. Numerous photographs. 233 pages. ISBN 0-9631060-5-8 
Price: $20.00
Chasing the Horizon
Chasing the Horizon
by Cap’n Fatty Goodlander
… is an outrageously funny book about growing up aboard a funky old schooner, and becoming a confirmed Caribbean sea gypsy.
“He’s a classic storyteller in the tradition of P.J.O’Rouke, Art
Buchwald, and Hunter Thompson…” Fritz Seyfarth, TALES of the CARIBBEAN.
153 pages. ISBN 0-9631060-1-5 
Price $10.00
Seadogs, Clowns and Gypsies
Seadogs, Clowns and Gypsies
by Cap’n Fatty Goodlander
… is his first collection of the best (and worse) stories about the remarkable lifestyle of certain Caribbean sailors. The people who inhabit these salt stained pages (“We’re all here because we are not all there!”) have a true Lust for Living. 
63 pages. ISBN 0-9631060-2-3 
Price: $7.00
The Collected Fat
The Collected Fat
by Cap’n Fatty Goodlander
… is his latest collection with rollicking tales of Lush Tropical Vegetables, Wonderful Waterfront Wackos, and Colorful Caribbean Characters. Includes Hurricane Marilyn stories.
“No other writer has captured the Caribbean sea-gypsy as well. Fatty is a national treasure.” Terry Gavin, editor, Daily News.
135 pages. ISBN 0-9631060-8-2 
Price: $10.00

 
To order by mail:
send a check or money order to
American Paradise Publishing
PO Box 781
St. John, VI 00831
Add $3.50 Shipping/Handling for first book,
and $1.00 for each additional book.
For information call/fax 
(340) 779-4257 or
E-mail
info@AmericanParadisePublishing.com


 
 
Everything you need for your St John Vacation can be found on:
St John Tour